RSS

I made up my mind

05 Apr

So we woke up Monday morning and some of our power was out. That’s right, not all of it–just some of it. Lights in the kitchen, living room, one bedroom and a bathroom: working fine. Rest of the lights in the house: dark as night. Outlets? Kitchen, bathroom and one bedroom only. Appliances: just the microwave and fridge were working. The cooktop worked too, but not as an appliance–more like a switch. When I turned on the knob, some lights that were out and the clothes washer came on!

100_2312.jpg 100_2313.jpg

Turns out our half power story is all about a fried wire under our driveway. Make that right in the middle of our driveway, 30 inches under the concrete. So, this story ends with a $1500 bill (at least) and my precious front lawn and landscaping torn to shreds. Some spark.

Oh ya, and today is my 30th birthday. Yipee. Torn up yard, big bill, grey hairs and 30. But…

My lovely wife showed up at the office Howard this afternoon with a big delicious birthday cake. And Mom stopped this morning as I was leaving the driveway to give me a new Sidney Portier book. Got a nice card from everybody at work, and they took me for a couple of Bully Porters at Maroney’s Bar across the street too. And Jaimie started my morning by leaving a cool gift and card for me (see the slate tile for my desk), along with a new outfit (even though the pants are a little small–ok, they’re camel-toe small). And, thanks to our trusty Dave Ramsey emergency fund, we don’t have to ask the bank for any help to pay the electrician.

100_2320.jpg

So, despite a lousy, messy, expensive, stressful couple days getting the power back on, my day was still bright. Good thing the kids and I sang our start-the-morning-right song today. It goes a little something like this:

“I feel great. I feel great. I’ve made up my mind, to have a great day, and I feel great!”

Drink the kool-aid.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2007 in Celebrations, rants

 

3 responses to “I made up my mind

  1. Carrie

    April 6, 2007 at 8:07 am

    We hope you had a wonderful 30th Joe. What a mess with the electric wires! We love you, Paul and Carrie

     
  2. Kelly

    April 6, 2007 at 8:19 am

    Happy Birthday–
    Just think how I feel—MY SON turned 30 today! Wouldn’t change it for the world.

    Keep in mind–Life’s messes are there to remind us that we’re alive & kicking–I guess you guys are really kickin’ this week!

    Love you,
    Mom

     

Leave a Reply

