RSS

Remembering Grandpa Joe

27 Jan

cards.jpgMy Grandpa Bartmann died 6 years ago this month. I spoke at his wake and funeral, along with other members of the family. For some reason, as I was poking around through some old folders on my computer the other day, I ran across the written versions of both talks I gave. It was nice to read them through, and it reminded me that a few of my aunts had asked me for a hard copy of my notes back then. I don’t think I ever gave them up–it was just too fresh and personal at the time.

Well, aunties, here they are. Better late than never…

grandpa-memories-wake.pdf

grandpa-memories-funeral.pdf

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2008 in Family, Love, writing

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Remembering Grandpa Joe

  1. Sarah

    January 29, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    It’s kinda weird because I was just thinking about your speech at Grandpa’s funeral a few days ago and wanted to read it again. Thanks for sharing it. It makes me miss him more.
    Love, Sarah

     
  2. Kelly

    January 30, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Joe,
    I, too am so glad you shared this with us. What a flood of memories it brought back! (along with a flood of tears for me, of course) Your dad & I spent a lot of time last night reminiscing…

    Thanks.

    Love, Mom

     
  3. Paul

    February 1, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    Well, thanks for making me look like a weirdo at work. I made the mistake of reading this while at the office, and of course the warter works started up. Luckily the only person that came in arrived about 20 mins after I read it, so i wasnt actually crying while they were here, but i did have some pretty red and puffy eyes. You should have attached some disclaimer to this post.

    Thanks

     
  4. Mary

    February 10, 2008 at 2:55 am

    Joe,

    Thanks for the memory. I couldn’t sleep and saw the bartmann blog on Carl’s desktop. It was great. It made me laugh and cry.

    Love
    Mary

     

Leave a Reply

