RSS

School’s Out

15 May

Holy crap. Somebody tell me how to stop my kids from growing up.

Mesa’s big moment +
Silly string celebration

Mesa graduated from pre-school last night, and I watched Hope kick butt this morning in the shortened 50 meter dash at “field day” to end first grade. It was short because it was moved inside the gym due to the rain. After she whipped all the other first graders, she came in a close second when four 6th 8th grade boys challenged her. Yup–she beat all but one of ’em. Her shit is quick, I guess.

So now it’s on to softball, T-ball, vacations, swimming lessons, vacation bible school, and what not. Somehow, Jaim and I still need to fit work in. (And an occasional date.) I know everybody says this all the time, but I really can’t get my mind around how fast time is flying by me. You don’t notice it as much until one day you’re watching your cone-head daughter come into this world (the cone head went back to normal after a couple days) and the very next day she’s reading chapter books (this is a big deal–the chapters) and getting pumped about being a second grader.

Love every second.

Half a Hope

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2008 in Family, Kids

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “School’s Out

  1. Jaimie

    May 16, 2008 at 8:48 am

    They were 8th grade boys honey!

     
  2. ranig

    May 16, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    Love the photo of half of Hope! We need to schedule a sprint date for the girls. M seems to have pretty fast, er… um… crap, too. Wish I had brought the camera.

    Where does the time go?

     
  3. Kelly

    May 16, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    You ain’t seen nothin’ yet! Wait until you’re the grandparent watching your baby’s baby do those things.

    Love ya,
    Mom

    PS I already told Zoey she can’t grow up. She told me: “But Grandma I just have to. I don’t know how I do it (little shoulder shrug right here) – it just happens…”

     

Leave a Reply

