RSS

Feeling For Trees

23 Jun

My heart goes out to the Madville Times family for the loss of many neighbors with the gain of a new one (see this). It’s interesting how a person can really feel sorrow for the wise old trees when they are ripped out in the name of human ‘progress.’ At least I can. I shared Corey’s disgust when I first saw the giant heaps of 100+ year old cottonwood trees piled up along Valley Road. I actually stopped in the middle of the road in disappointment and sadness, just looking at the destruction. You can call me a ‘treehugger’ too, I guess. I just really hate seeing them go like that, for such a lousy reason (to gain a couple more acres for farming is a lousy reason, by the way). Thanks, Cory, for summing up why it hurts so much to lose them.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 23, 2008 in going green, trees

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

