RSS

Autumn Flowers, Sinister Blueberries and Dangerous Pine Cones

26 Sep

I’ve been on the road most of this week. Tuesday morning I was in Lead, SD and took in a wonderful early morning hike along the Mickelson Trail south of Lead. I was given several lessons out there by Mother Nature–one was the flowers. I was really taken by the variety of beautiful wildflowers in bloom this time of year. Here’s a sample (more on Flickr).

Another cool thing I encountered were the ‘thumps’ of fresh pine cones falling to the ground from towering ponderosas. At first I was really puzzled by the pretty frequent thumping sound I kept hearing, ’til I was almost whacked in the noggin.

I also came across what looked like wild blueberries. I picked a few, but thought I better not eat them ’til i could confirm they wouldn’t require a puke bucket for the carride home. I asked a few locals, and looked up wild blueberries on google. and I still don’t know for sure. Can anybody help me? Above are a couple pics of the blueberry-look-alikes, along with a haiku (below) I wrote on my hike back to the trail head.

golden Aspen leaves
green cones thump home to Earth
berries show in blue

Enjoy the Autumn!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2008 in hiking, poetry

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Autumn Flowers, Sinister Blueberries and Dangerous Pine Cones

  1. Deadwood Hotel

    December 5, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    I just did the trail about this time of year last year and stayed at a great place in Deadwood. I did the part from lead farther south (it was a gentle 6 mile ride downhill!) I can’t imagine what the rest would be like. Beautiful i bet, but hard.

     
  2. joebart

    December 5, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    So, Deadwood Hotel, do you know anything about the “possibly blueberries?”

     
  3. Grama much

    August 23, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    We found some this morning South of Deadwood and brought them home to id. The ones we found are identical to the Oregon grape images. We googles wild berry images and found the image which only id’d them as the oregon state plant..googled from there.

     
  4. joebart

    August 24, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Grapes! Awesome detective work Grama. You know, I didn’t put it together at the time, but I remember now that they taste much more like bitter grapes than blueberries.

    As a related note, the wild raspberries were perfectly ripe on a recent trip to the northwoods of Minnesota. Really made the hikes more fun for the kiddos. And yummy.

     
  5. Jane

    May 10, 2013 at 2:21 pm

    Hi Joe,
    My name is Jane and I’m with Dwellable.
    I was looking for blogs about Lead to share on our site and I came across your post…If you’re open to it, shoot me an email at jane(at)dwellable(dot)com.
    Hope to hear from you soon!
    Jane

     

Leave a Reply

