RSS

Popcorn, anyone? (plus career aspirations)

11 Oct

So this box showed up on our front porch a week or so ago. It’s a heavy box, from Lakota Foods. I’ve ordered stuff from them a few times before. It’s a Native American company that sells products from the harvest of the Lower Brule Tribe in central South Dakota. Popcorn is their big deal. This box? It contains a big bag of unpopped popcorn (a 25 pounder!). But it’s not mine. Or at least it wasn’t supposed to be. Joseph Vista in Los Osos, CA–I have your popcorn.

So, it turns out Lakota Foods had some mix-up with shipping. I called to ask what they wanted me to do with it, and after a week of phone tag Jim in thier office told me to just keep the popcorn. Thanks Jim. It should last through Obama’s second term.

Aspirations

From a conversation I overheard in our kitchen today while the girls were working hard on the latest great art project. Hope is ‘coordinating.’

Hope: “I love helping you with art projects. That’s why I’m going to grow up to be an art teacher. And a dancer and cheerleader.”

Zoey: “I’m gonna be a basketballer girl.” (And a vegetarian, we think. But that’s another story…)

Mesa: “I’m going to be a doctor that helps animals, and a rock star.”

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 11, 2008 in etc., Kids

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Popcorn, anyone? (plus career aspirations)

  1. paul

    October 11, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Thats great! Durring the summers when she is not teaching, it sounds like Hope can be a dancer for Mesa’s rock band and cheer on Zoey’s basketballer team!

     
  2. Sarah

    October 11, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    FYI: your mother loves popcorn – and she instilled that gene in me. We enjoy popcorn multiple times a week in our house (K has the gene too, and Jason just shakes his head at us:) ). At least we’ve slowed down on the chex mix…..
    Sarah

     
  3. joebart

    October 12, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Sis- Afraid I don’t have any bacon grease to go with the popcorn…

     
  4. Josh

    October 14, 2008 at 10:45 am

    Hey Joe, don’t forget that all important Scout popcorn:) I heard from an “anonymous” source that it satisfies the pallet and goes to a good cause! Great story.

    Josh

     
  5. joebart

    October 14, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Josh- you’ll be happy to know I dropped 10 bucks on some scout popcorn just the other day. Carmel corn with peanuts. The bad news is I ate the whole damn thing myself.

    The scouts are out in full force the last couple weeks. I bought my can at work, and we’ve had minivan loads of scouts drop into our neighborhood three times since. Determined little buggers…

     

Leave a Reply

