RSS

I [Heart] RLC.

17 Nov

CB030097One thing I love about this blog is that I can just throw shit up here–thoughts and ideas and commentary, real and raw. And, since I’m writing to my family and friends, I don’t filter. Sometimes I forget that my audience isn’t just my family and friends.  I wrote a post this past weekend about taking on an exciting new project in my work. Since putting it up on Friday afternoon, nearly 1500 people have visited bartblog. An average of almost 400 a day. A normal day is somewhere between 80 and 150. What gives? (I have no idea.)

And, sometimes, things don’t spit out right.  A couple of my friends have told me that post the other day sounded like I was saying I’m glad to leave the Rural Learning Center behind. I’m not.

So, just to clear things up: I’ve had nothing but love for the RLC.  I really love my work there. Always have. And the friendrlc-new-logos and colleagues I’ve had a chance to work with are amazing (and much smarter than me). I’m forever grateful for all I’ve learned and shared with them. My boss and co-workers have been totally supportive of my most recent experiment, and have put up with a boatlod of others over the past 3 years. It’s been super swell of them. And I’m not disappearing.

I see now that the word ‘quit’ is strong. I overdramatize my headlines, I guess (and it works, case in point). This has been a super difficult decision for me, and not one I’ve made by weighing pros and cons. It’s been a gut check–a calling that I’m following. Not anything I’m getting away from. I believe this new opportunity was brought to me for a reason (thanks again for being the messenger Nicole).

So here’s the low down, for anyone interested. For the next few months (beginning in December) I’ll be working on the Green Project a few days a week and on RLC projects a couple days a week.  It’s a way for me to jump into the pool but keep my hands on the deck. We’ve all agreed to go with it this way until we don’t. And it’s pretty amazing for both parties to allow me to do that. Sincere thanks for that.

So that’s the scoop. Thanks for reading.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 17, 2008 in Work

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

