RSS

Leafy

29 Nov

Winter really snuck up on me this year. You’d think after 30 South Dakota winters I’d have figured out that I better get my garden and yard ready for the cold stuff by November. Not so much. We had a bonafide-no-shit cold streak a week or two ago, and I’m afraid I lost some new plantings of shrubs. Shrubs that I hadn’t gotten around to mulching yet. In fact, I didn’t even get my gladiola bulbs dug up in time–and now the ground is frozen solid. Silly me.

For about a month now I’ve been meaning to rake up a big pile of leaves in Mom and Dad’s back yard (since I get about 72 total leaves falling on my hilltop yard) to bag for composting and mulching. Mission (finally) accomplished. I did manage to get one flower bed mulched with fresh soybean stalks during the harvest, but that’s all my mulching. Again, in case you’ve missed it, I’m a bonehead this fall. Life goes on…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 29, 2008 in compost, garden, Kids, Weather

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

