RSS

A Milk Break

03 Mar

I was reading an article last night about a guy who had been having a sore throat and sinus issues for years, until someone suggested he might have a lactose intolerance. Sounds kind of goofy to me, but he quit drinking milk and eating cheese, and hasn’t had the problem since. 

So, it sounds like an experiment worth trying to me. I’ve had sinus B.S. going on for as long as I can remember. Tried many a prescription and OTC remedy, to little avail. I’m in the beginnings of my third sinus infection of the winter right now. Total drain. So here’s my pledge: two weeks, no moo juice. Or cheese. God I love cheese!…

I’ll let you know if I notice any change. 

About the Bread

So, I’m sure you’re on pins and pine needles waiting to hear how my foray into bread-making turned out. I’m eating the last of the first loaf for lunch right now, with some left over black bean salsa soup. The bread’s slightly salty and not quite crispy enough, but I’m on the right track. Oh, and a little tip about keeping keeping bread dough in the fridge: don’t put the lid on tight!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2009 in Food, Fun experiements

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “A Milk Break

  1. Rani

    March 3, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    I had to try it. I have such terrible wrists, I HATE kneading, so I have a bowl in the fridge with the lid lifted a bit. Can’t wait to try it. I did not use the course or sea salt for fear of too much salt and because I didn’t have it. So I used plain ‘ol table salt and plain old flour, not the fancy unbleached stuff, it may bomb, but hey anything I don’t have to knead is worth a try or two. Thanks for the link to the article…

     
  2. joebart

    March 3, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    @Rani: Hope you find no-knead baking bliss.

     

Leave a Reply

