RSS

Spaghetti Squash + Sun

05 Sep

Picked up a spaghetti squash from Uncle Ray at the Community Garden stand this morning. Word was, it really does come out like spaghetti noodles. So, I halved it, dug out the seeds, and put it in the solar oven. Three and a half hours later, it seemed done. It was fun to scrape out of the shell, and the noodle-look-a-like stuff is no joke. I found a recipe in the Joy of Cooking book, and tossed the squash with some olive oil, butter, fresh cut herbs and some cracked black pepper.

The verdict? I’d rate it somewhere around 6 on a ten point scale. I added a little brown sugar, just because that and butter were the only things Mom ever put on her squash. It helped a bit. So, not bad, not my favorite squash. I really love a good squash, so it’s tough to rate too high with me. Just nice to eat some squash–reminds me my favorite season is here.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 5, 2009 in Food

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Spaghetti Squash + Sun

  1. Rani

    September 5, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    Hey Joe, Spaghetti squash is a hungry girls best friend. I like to serve mine under some stirfry or as a substitute for noodles in spaghetti. I have also been know to serve it under hamburger gravy and chicken alfredo. It fills you up like pasta with hardly any calories or carbs. WAHOO!

    In other words, I don’t treat it much like a squash at all…but I don’t recommend freezing it unless you want to make bread or cake…it’s mushy when it’s defrosted.

     
  2. joebart

    September 25, 2009 at 1:28 am

    I combined a couple leftovers into one meal later that week. Alfredo sauce on the squash was great.

     

Leave a Reply

