RSS

Can Honey Cure my Allergies?

24 Nov

As I was spreading this honey from a local farm on this delicious cranberry orange bread for lunch, I remembered that my Mom wondered out loud this weekend if I have quit blogging. I’ll share more about why I’ve been on blogger’s sabbatical later. Today, let’s talk honey.

Local honey, actually. Local honey and curing seasonal allergies.

Since I was pretty young, I’ve suffered from all kinds of no-fun symptoms from allergies every spring and fall. I’ve tried dozens of different medications, with varying results. Then, a couple years ago, I heard somewhere about honey as the cure-all. Eating honey that was made (by the bees) near your home can all but cure your seasonal allergies, or so the story goes. The story came from a guy selling honey raised close to my home, so I was a bit skeptical. But somehow it made some sense–after all, bees make that stuff from pollen, and pollen (for me) equals sneezes and watery eyes and chronic sinus infections. So, if I can immunize myself from colds and chicken pox by being exposed to it a little bit over time, then maybe this honey thing could actually work. Besides, I really like honey.

Bottom line: I think it might work. I still have some symptoms, but significantly less often and less harsh. I haven’t change much else I can think of, besides spreading or drizzling that thick sweet stuff on toast and tea and pancakes and all sorts of other corn syrup replacements. Come to think of it, I also started rinsing my sinuses at around the same time–a pretty gross trick my Mom taught me. So, I guess it’s a bad experiment. Bottom line is, as far as seasonal allergies go, I’m feeling pretty great compared to most of my life.

The honey in the picture above is from Grandma Wick’s nephew. I usually get my local honey from my sweet sister, but she must not love me anymore. I’ve also bought it from a nice quiet dude at the Falls Park Farmers Market–he brings some bees with him, and the girls really dig that. His honey is raw, which he tells me makes it super-powered for fighting allergies and a whole list of other ailments. Most recently, I bought a double-quart of local honey from the nearby Mayrose Farm on the silent auction at the St. Pat’s Church Soup and Pie lunch on Sunday.This whole story began there, at said Soup and Pie extravaganza, where Anne and Grandma and I talked a little honey and allergies over a bowl of chicken noodle soup.

Want more allergy-fighting honey news? Here are a few links–some supporting my theory, others not really buying it (and one warning from Mayo Clinic not to give your baby any honey):

http://health.howstuffworks.com/local-honey-for-allergies2.htm

http://www.pioneerthinking.com/to_honey2009.html

http://www.fitsugar.com/258237

http://www.buzzle.com/articles/honey-homeopathic-treatment-for-seasonal-allergies.html

http://www.localhoneyblog.com/local-honey/how-to-relieve-seasonal-allergies-with-raw-local-honey

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/infant-botulism/HQ00854

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2009 in Food, Health

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Can Honey Cure my Allergies?

  1. Sarah McAreavey

    November 24, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    I still love you lots! Just waiting for my husband to remember to bring the honey home…..

    Sarah

     
  2. joebart

    November 25, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    I know you love me sis. Just a blatant attempt at free stuff.

    For all you honey bee farmers out there, Uncle Sam is lending a helping hand:
    http://www.argusleader.com/article/20091125/UPDATES/91125008

     
  3. Kelly

    November 28, 2009 at 12:16 am

    You should ask our 90+ year old friend Lavina Kane about the healthy effects of honey. She has honey EVERY DAY religiously – and you know how spry she still is!

     
  4. Kelly

    November 28, 2009 at 12:19 am

    PS – Do you suppose Sarah loves your mom enough to get me some of that honey too?

     

Leave a Reply

