RSS

Finally Shot by Lloyd B. Cunningham

17 Mar

Lloyd B. Cunningham

“At some point there’s something more than going to work. Even when you love what you do, and I do.”  That was Lloyd B. Cunningham, long time Argus Leader photographer, on his very last day of work. Lloyd begins his retirement tomorrow after taking thousands of pics of South Dakota over the past 40 years.  By some stroke of luck, I happened to be his last photo assignment. There we were, on the 6th floor deck at Cherapa Place, shooting a pic of me for a feature on next week’s Green Drinks gathering (look for it in Friday’s Argus Leader). He graciously posed for three shots by me–a picture of Lloyd taking my picture.

“Tomorrow morning we leave the same way we showed up 40 years ago,” he told me on the way to the roof, “with all of our belongings in a UHaul trailer.” Lloyd and his wife Linda are moving to Okoboji for the warm months, and will find a winter home somewhere south. I really enjoyed the conversation with him. He’s a truly interesting dude–and sort of South Dakota folklore. The Argus did a great piece on him, and his most famous photos, a couple Sunday’s ago (read it here).

I was impressed by how personal he is while doing his work, and how much he truly seemed to be enjoying it. Even though he took at least 30 shots of me from several different angles–all for one mug shot.

It’s pure coincidence that I became his last assignment, but thanks for the privilege Lloyd. Enjoy the lake.

UPDATE 3/19/2010:

Here’a a link to the story in today’s Argus Leader. Read the story.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2010 in etc.

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Finally Shot by Lloyd B. Cunningham

  1. Lloyd Cunningham

    September 27, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Hello Joe,
    I ran across your blog posting about my last day this afternoon doing some research for an upcoming speech in Rochester next month. I remember our conversation very well and I was impressed with your quotes and very kind words. Thank you so much. I intend to share it entry with family, they will enjoy it too.

    Lloyd

     
    • joebart

      September 27, 2010 at 10:18 pm

      It’s was a fun and interesting day Lloyd. Great to hear from you, hope things are great at the lake!

       

Leave a Reply

