RSS

Late is a four letter word

15 May

Fail is too. That’s what being late usually feels like. Especially when you’re 6 minutes and 40 seconds late for your daughter’s 7-minute play at school. Where does late come from? Unpreparedness? Laziness? Bad priorities? Yes, I guess. Anyway, it’s a habit I’d like to kick in the teeth.

I stood in the doorway just in time to see a bunch of first-graders take a proud bow during the applause. Lucky for me, Mesa was cheery when she ran over to give me a big hug. Me: “Hi Mes, I’m so sorry I’m late for your play. I really tried to be here in time.” Mesa: “It’s OK Daddy. I’m glad you’re here now. And Mommy taped it!”

Since Kiera provided a little too much assistance with the videography, I’ll spare you. It was a beautiful play, I promise.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 15, 2010 in Family, Kids

 

Leave a Reply

