RSS

Starter Pack Update

17 May

Today I met my most bicycle crazy friend Michael at our favorite west-side coffee shop. What the friendly Coffea baristas didn’t know was we were trafficking immigrants without papers.

By my count, that makes a baker’s dozen red wiggler starter packs I’ve sent out there into the prairie abyss. Except for one troubled exception (yes you, Brett), all are doing well and relishing in rotting food. At least the ones I know about. Some packs have gone to total strangers who were opportunists at a workshop or talk. Who knows how many of my first level starters have created starter packs of their own. We could be talking a nation of red wigglers here. And they all came from Uncle Carl.

In fact he’s the one who inspired me to give a lot of worms away. It was the original starter pack from Longmont, CO that Carl brought to me back in ’07 that turned me into a passionate worm poop farmer.  So, I’ve been returning the favor by paying it forward. I really only want 3 boxes anyway, and those things make babies like catholics.

The Chosen Ones:

  • Jane, a dean at SDSU (first ever starter pack)
  • A 5th grade teacher at a Sioux Falls elementary school
  • Another teacher, this one hangs with high school science nerds
  • My cousin Brett, who lost a game of chance
  • Flowerman and Letwan in Pest Control
  • Chris Z, my very favorite Extension Educator and rain barrel maker
  • Aimee, the bravest sustainability coordinator ever
  • A lady at a compost workshop
  • An old lady and a young boy at the Garden Show (they took my strawberries too)
  • Kim the Trash Talkin mommy with moxie
  • The Kindergartners at Lowell Elementary, via Drew
  • And, now, He Who Minuses Cars

Did I forget you? Holler.

UPDATE 5/20: Some mirroring on MinusCar. Yes, he said ‘caffeinated.’

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2010 in compost, worms

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Starter Pack Update

  1. Paul

    May 18, 2010 at 12:38 am

    Coffee shop? I thought you were off the juice.

     
    • joebart

      May 21, 2010 at 9:42 am

      They do sell other stuff too…But I suck at quitting coffee.

       
  2. Brett

    June 12, 2010 at 11:17 am

    in my deffense, I was doing pretty good keeping them alive and well. I just go a little carried away the first time we had Watermellon that summer. A little tip for the new starters….it doesn’t take much water mellon to drown out your worms! 😉

     
  3. Neal

    October 24, 2014 at 4:20 pm

    Hello there. I’m a local Sioux Fallsian looking for a starter pack of local worms. I googled “Sioux Falls red wigglers” and found you. Do you still have any of the little guys and if so, would you be willing to provide me with a starter pack? Thanks!

     
  4. luther

    February 17, 2015 at 12:31 pm

    Same hear neal I am looking at starting a hydroponic system built from only recycled goods and I heard that worm casings make the best compost tea and would like to start the system by making a vermicompost system first before I start experimenting with plants

     

Leave a Reply

