RSS

Montrose, South Dakota: Local Foods Mecca

27 Jun

photo by Natalie Maynor on Flickr

I noticed something at the Falls Park Farmers Market Saturday. I had a hug and conversation with Ruth and waved to Tom in the Goosemobile, bought some late season tomato and pepper plants from the Warners, and ate a grilled burger from the Gessners (Dakota Natural Beef). On the way to the car it hit me–three of the 18 vendors are from a stone’s throw of Montrose. Then at the Sunshine grocery store we saw “honey straws” from Orland Honey Farm–also of rural Montrose.

I know it’s only four producers of local, wholesome food. But they’re all within ten miles of my house. I’ve never thought of Montrose as a local foods hot spot. I doubt you have either. But this is actually something. Put these four together with our wonderful Montrose Community Garden and there’s something here. Something real and good. And unnoticed, at least by me, ’til this weekend.

Maybe we can be the Hardwick, VT of South Dakota one day (read “How Food Saved a Town“). Local Foods is the ‘real deal’ (just ask Mike), and it’s a serious opportunity for us in small towns–to feed ourselves and surrounding communities, to live healthier lives, and to re-connect with this land and it’s bounty in new-old sacred ways.

update 6/28: Thanks to my friend Corey at Madville Times for pushing the gas on this little local food revolution.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2010 in Food

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Montrose, South Dakota: Local Foods Mecca

  1. joebart

    July 4, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    Almost forgot about Rick Knobe’s Lazy RRse Buffalo ranch, just down the road near the Bartmann farm. http://www.lazyrrse.com

     
  2. Caitlin

    October 11, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    Joe!
    I’m so glad to have found your post on here… I am from Yankton, SD but moved to Lincoln, NE when I was pretty young… I stilll know many people in SD and went there for a while for college. One year, I got the Honey sticks from Orland Honey Farm as a gift and I am pretty desparate to find them so I can buy more! Where can I do this?

     
  3. kate spade 財布

    September 6, 2013 at 5:08 am

    クロックス 通販 激安

     

Leave a Reply

