RSS

Forgotten News

29 Jun

It’s been a good June. We’ve been unplugged for most of it (that’s the good part). So, you missed a few news items from Bartland.

Four Eyes

Right before vacation I made a trip to the eye doctor for the first time since college. The news is I have a stigmatism that’s making things a little blurry for me. I’ve never needed glasses, so this was a first for me. They sent me home with five pairs to show the fam and choose from. They all failed the test, so I brought my whole crew in the next afternoon to help me pick the perfect pair.

Still getting used to them after three weeks, but I guess if I have to wear glasses, these will do.

The Odyssey

We’ve had our eye on Honda’s version of the family attack vehicle for a while, so when the one with all the features and mileage we’ve been looking for popped up on a web search, we started talking with our new friends in Aberdeen. I was actually looking for a replacement for my Ford Taurus, which I thought had finally quit on me after 230,000 miles and 11 years together. Alas, the Taurus was resurrected by my magician mechanic Frank, and we were suddenly minivan shopping.

We weren’t happy with the trade in offer from the dealer, so on a whim I shot some photos of our Dodge Caravan and listed it on Craigslist over dinner one evening, just for curiosity. Within 12 hours, it was sold. Crazy.

Tooth Fairies in Colorado

Zoey lost her first tooth while on vacation in Colorado earlier this month. Good for her, she thought. Her uncle Paul had been joking with Hope that the Tooth Fairy gives 5 bucks per tooth in Colorado, so when Zoey’s tooth came out unexpectedly, she was seeing green. Turns out either the tooth fairy was also on vacation, or Paul is full of malarkey.

Partied Out

Hope and Mesa both have birthdays in early June. Due to travel schedules, we actually celebrated three times each so friends and family could share in the parties. That’s a lot of cake in one month.

Mayo with That

We’re headed back to Mayo Clinic this week for another in a series of procedures for Hope. She was born with a “veinous malformation” called hemangeoma, which means she has a tangled up ball of extra veins in her chest. Luckily, it’s right below the skin, so easy to get at it. This will be the second in a series of procedures to remove it while it’s still detached from any arteries or other tissues.

Always scary to send your kid into an operating room (particularly for Mommies), but we’re in very good hands at Mayo. The best in the world, we’re told.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 29, 2010 in etc., Family, Kids

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

