RSS

Worst Friend Ever

20 Aug

A long-time friend of mine took me to lunch today. He hadn’t heard form me much in the last few years, and wanted to be sure I was OK. I’m lucky to be able to call him a friend, since I don’t deserve it.

I’m not a very good friend most of the time. I pretty much suck at it. If you are my friend, or you once were, then there’s a pretty good chance I have ignored you, avoided you at some point, not returned your phone call or email, not followed through on something I promised you, said no to you when you invited me somewhere fun… You get the picture.

The truth is, I am ridiculously busy.  I focus my time in three places, mostly. Work, family and spiritual practice (stupidly in that order all too often), so my time budget just runs out. I still want to be your friend, but you should dump me. You deserve better, that’s all.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2010 in etc.

 

2 responses to “Worst Friend Ever

  1. Kelly

    August 20, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Joe, I think you learned how to be a friend from your mother! You will find, though, that people who will put up with a friend like you or me are truly GREAT friends! So in our case, we count quality rather than quantity.

     

Leave a Reply

