RSS

Surprise Wii (plus snowman treats)

02 Jan
the tipoff

the tipoff

So my wonderful wife and I, like last year, agreed to go the no-christmas-gift -for-each-other route in 2008. That usually means we help the girls find a very little something or two to give Mom and Dad, and we might do something nice for eachother, but no consumerism-supporting gifts.

We’ve been talking off and on about a Wii for our house for a while. For me, it’s a strategy of sorts. I regularly loose the no-TV battle, so I figure the kids bowling and boxing in the living room is better than couch potato city. But (and that’s a big but), we decided not now. Afterall, we were already in cahoots with Santa to spoil our kids much more than normal this year (Mesa and Zo got thier bunkbed, and Santa brought Hope a new computer).

So, it was odd and curious that on Christmas morning, after the floor under hte tree was pretty much clear, Jaim seemed excited adn nervous to give the girls one last gift. She asked them and me to guess. Sure looked like a couple of DVDs to me. The girls thought so to, until Hope examined them a bit closer after tearing the paper off. They were Wii games. What the!…

jenna and hope trying it out

jenna and hope trying it out

Jaim had been secretly stashing some cash away each month for a while to buy the bos she then handed to me. I was totally surprised–that she bought the Wii and that she kept the secret for so long. So, after a week, I can almost beat Jaimie at bowling. Knocking off my 7 or 5 year old daughters? No chance. And Zoey is the meanest, quickest boxer on the planet–just don’t plan on her going longer than one round. (Uncle Paul has some good video of Zoey knocking the crap out of someone on the Wii–maybe he’ll post it on his blog…)

UPDATE: Here’s Paul’s video on YouTube.

Snowman Treats

Kind of old news, but thought I’d show you the holiday party treats Mesa brought to Kindergarten on the lastday of school before break. She has the coolest Mom.

snowman treats

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 2, 2009 in Celebrations, Family, gadgets

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Surprise Wii (plus snowman treats)

  1. paul

    January 3, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    here’s boxing vids on youtube. click the “watch in high quality” button for a much better picture.

     

Leave a comment